2016 overview

The 36th Annual San Francisco International Wine Competition took place at the Hotel Nikko, San Francisco from June 9-12, 2016. 4,618 wines were blind tasted by over 50 of the wine industry’s top experts.


The SFIWC is pleased to present the Top Awards from this year’s competition.

The Tasting Panel Magazine Winery of the Year: J. Lohr Vineyards & Wines

André Tchelistcheff Winemakers of the Year: Mike Crumly, VP of Production; Bob Iantosca, Executive Winemaker; and Steve Urberg, Winemaker from Gloria Ferrer Caves & Vineyards

Portfolio of the Year: Constellation Brands


Other Top Awards include the following Best in Show awards:

Best in Show Red • Best Pinot Noir

Crū 2014 Pinot Noir, Santa Maria Valley, USA


Best In Show White • Best White Rhône Varietal

McPherson Cellars 2015 Piquepoul Blanc, Timmons Ranch, Texas, USA


Best in Show Sparkling • Best Blanc de Noir

Gloria Ferrer Winery NV Blanc de Noirs, Carneros, Sonoma


Best in Show Dessert • Best Port

Kopke 1957 Colheita Port, Porto DOC, Portugal


For a complete list of top awards, including Best of Class awards, please click here.


For the complete list of 2016 medal winners, please click here.


The San Francisco International Wine Competitions congratulates all medal winners, especially the Double Gold and Top Award winners!


Please find our 2016 press release here.